Lemon Curd

It’s shocking how many eggs go into lemon curd, one could probably fry a lemon omelet with the stuff. I was busy taking pictures of the thickening mixture and in a matter of seconds, the curd started developing disturbingly solid-ish lumps. The curd turned out quite tasty after sieving out the egg scramble (I didn’t taste those, thank you), albeit a little eggier than I’d like. Serves me right for not watching it more closely.

On a side note, NTUC has the tiniest eggs ever in their pack of 30, completely throwing off all my attempts to standardize all the recipes. I now go by weight, 50 grams per egg without shell.

The next time I make this curd, I’d increase the amount of butter and try Monsieur Pierre’s technique of blending in the butter after the lemon-egg mixture has cooled.
Rich Lemon Curd
adapted from Sky High – Irresistible Triple Layer Cakes by Alisa Huntsman and Peter Wynne
makes 1 cup
3 whole eggs
2 egg yolks
100g sugar
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice (about 4 lemons)
grated zest of three lemons
4 tablespoons of unsalted butter, at room temp.
Whisk together the whole eggs, yolks, sugar, lemon juice , and lemon zest together in a medium bowl. Transfer to a small non-reactive saucepan. Heat the mixture on a slow flame, whisking constantly until it thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon. Make sure not to boil the mixture. Pour the mixture through a sieve into a heatproof bowl. Stir in the butter and cover the curd with plastic, making sure the plastic touches the curd to prevent a skin from forming on the curd. Refrigerate until cold.
3 comments
  1. Ohhh…I bet PH’s technique would make the lemon curd so much creamier. I’ll try to do that too when I make my next lemon curd. What I usually do is mix it in slowly while in an ice bath, I am quite satisfied with the result. But then again trying a new technique is something I never say no to 🙂

    That lemon curd look so good, I want to get a toast and dip into it pronto!

Leave a Reply

